Time management

Are you a time manager or a time waster?

THERE IS NEVER ENOUGH TIME TO DO EVERYTHING, BUT THERE IS ALWAYS TIME TO DO THE MOST IMPORTANT THING” Brian Tracy

Often in life we have a great deal to do and time goes by rapidly. Time is something which can neither be bought nor returned. Most days I am left with a ton to do and cannot find the time to complete my task(s). I end up feeling somewhat complacent with leaving tasks to the very end and end up stressing about how far behind I am.

Being a student, lecturer and a wife leaves me with no time for anything extra, time is extremely valuable for me. Researching time management has taught me that it is important to keep a timetable, this is something I usually do but in the form of a list, although I struggle to keep to deadlines!!!

Planning and managing time correctly means having a well balanced lifestyle which is necessary for an individuals well-being, we were not made to be robots. The second we fall off centre with our plans we start stressing and that’s when things could go downhill (or rather horribly wrong for me). My advice to all is to stick to the way you did things before and just tweak it up a bit, I mean who knows you better than yourself?! sooo if you’re good at making lists but you cant stick to time limits then make SURE you add those deadlines and train yourself to stick to them, start off small by making sure you are at appointments on time(I struggle with this).

“Time is precious, waste it wisely” Unknown

I believe that we are all unique in our own way and different things works for different people. Being the list type, I cannot go a day without making a list of things I have to do, I end up writing silly things on my lists because these tasks take up time during the day. However, I don’t beat myself up if I could not complete the task when I planned to. So be you when it comes to planning and managing your time. It is after all YOUR time. Another valuable task is being able to differentiate between what is important right now and what can be left for a later stage…I struggle with this as well, knowing this can save you plenty of time.

Nowadays, technology has made it so easy for us and lists can be drafted at the click of a mouse or the touch of a button, you can even keep a to do list on your mobile device, buuut if you’re ‘old school’ (like me) there is no shame in walking around with a pen and paper, as long as you are able to get to the tasks.

Organised spaces are another vital way to make sure you have a balance in your life, although some people don’t mind the clutter and find no problem in working ‘with’ the mess, some even creating more of a mess as they go along. I for one will lose my mind. If you are one of those people who can work in clutter, thumbs up to you, because that means less stress for you, lol. Although I do believe that one needs a place where you are able to sit down and merely think,  and for me, that certainly cannot be done in a cluttered environment.

The question is are you a time manager or a time waster? All the best to all of you, let us plan to work with time rather than against it.

Imagin8wtvr xxx!

One thought on “Are you a time manager or a time waster?

  1. Hey,

    Lovely post. I enjoyed it.

    I am definitely a time manager.I am obsessed with structure. I firmly believe that there’s a time and place for everything.

    P.S I am old school too xxx

    Like

Leave a comment